85th Anniversary Ceremony

08:00-10:00 UTC | 03:00-05:00 US Eastern Time (UTC-5) | 16:00-18:00 Beijing Time (UTC+8)
Monday, 14 December 2020


Since its creation in September 1935, IAHR has evolved to become the international organization that it is today with more than 4,000 members from all over the world working for the development of water engineering, the protection of the environment, and a better water future for all.

The IAHR 85th Anniversary Summit will celebrate IAHR’s extraordinary achievements as the global leader in hydro-environmental research and engineering. Respected pioneers founded IAHR in 1935 to uphold the flag of promoting hydraulic research. Over the 85 years, the association has evolved into a big family made up of the most relevant water-related and environmental fields of research and practice thanks to the support of a broad network of technical committees and working groups.

Celebrating 85 years is not just about looking back. With the Strategic Plan 2020-2023 in place, we are now better positioned to, while reflecting on the many outstanding legacies of the past 85 years, use this splendid experience to inform our future.


Pre-event registration is NOT needed. Just click the link below to watch the live-streaming, comment and raise questions directly on the IAHR website. Note that this LIVE page is shared with some other sessions, and so there might be other live-streamed sessions going on when you visit this page out of the time slot of this session.

If you log in with your IAHR account, you will be able to display your photo and name when posting a message in the Q&A.

Go to LIVE page


Seleshi Bekele

TIAN Xuebin

Joseph H.W, Lee

Concepcion Marcuello Olona

KUANG Shangfu

Harindra Joseph Fernando

Sai-Wai Chau

Silke Wieprecht

Robert Ettema

Hyoseop Woo


Joseph H.W. Lee


Tom Soo


I. Introduction (5 mins)

II. Addresses (5 mins each)

  • Joseph H.W. Lee, IAHR President; President Designate, Macau University of Science and Technology; Fellow, Royal Academy of Engineering

  • Concepcion Marcuello Olona, Coordinator of International Water Issues, Directorate General of Water, Ministry for the Ecological Transition and the Demographic Challenge, Spain

  • KUANG Shangfu, President, China Institute of Water Resources and Hydropower Research, China

  • Seleshi Bekele, Minister of Water, Irrigation, and Energy, Ethiopia

  • TIAN Xuebin, Vice Minister, Ministry of Water Resources, China (10 mins)

III. Vision Talks (20 mins each)

  • Whither Environmental Fluid Mechanics?
    Harindra Joseph Fernando,
     Professor, University of Notre Dame, USA

  • Hong Kong's Sustainable Water Management and IWA-HK's Collaboration Opportunities with IAHR in Regional Context
    , Deputy Director of Water Supplies, Hong Kong SAR Government, Secretary of IWA-Hong Kong Chapter

  • Intelligence Through Diversity – Together We Build Science, Together We Are IAHR

    Silke Wieprecht, IAHR Vice President, Professor, University of Stuttgart, Germany

IV. Institutional Advancement and Outreach (40 mins)

  • Dr. K. K. Wong Gift for Distinguished IAHR Lectures
    Robert Ettema,
     IAHR Vice President; Professor, Colorado State University, USA

  • IAHR K-water Partnership Agreement
    Hyoseop Woo, IAHR Vice President; Professor, Gwangju Institute of Science and Technology, Korea

V. Closing the session

Note: Information on this page is subject to future adjustment. To report misspelling or incorrect information, please write to iahrBeijing@iahr.org.

« Back to the list of all sessions